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Pawnshops, as an institution, are centuries older than the United States. 
Their origin is believed to be in fifth-century China, and the pawnbroker's 
symbol, three golden balls, has competing medieval attributions, ranging 
from the Medici Coat of Arms to coin purses Saint Nicholas gave to keep a 
father from selling his daughters into prostitution.1

Today, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) reports that 
pawnshop loans serve as an alternative to bank credit (credit cards, personal 
loans, or bank credit lines), with 1.8% of all households and 6.6% of unbanked 
households using pawnshop loans in 2015. The FDIC further notes that some 
pawnshop customers use the loans as an alternative to savings accounts by 
buying items that can be pawned later if the need arises.2 Other customers 
eschew that dispassionate approach and deliberately pawn sentimental items 
to increase their likelihood of paying back the loan.3

This Members Only brief discusses the Ohio Pawnbrokers Law (R.C. 
Chapter 4727.). It looks first to the basic features of pawn loans under the law, 
and then, beginning on page 5, examines the provisions of the law designed 
to keep stolen goods out of pawnshops. 

Pawn loans – the basics
Pawn loans are typically short-term and based on a pawn left as 

collateral, rather than a customer's credit rating. Ohio law does not define 
pawn. But in the context of a pawnshop, a pawn is a piece of personal property 
left as security for a debt, and it can also refer to the act of depositing that 
property for security.4 

Pawn loans are limited transactions. If a borrower (called a "pledgor") 
does not pay on a pawn loan for a set period of time, the collateral is forfeited, 
but the pawnbroker cannot sue for payment, and the loan is not reported to 
a consumer credit reporting agency.5 Unlike most loans, a pawn loan does 
not have a definite term.

Ohio law defines a "pawnbroker" as a person engaged in the business of 
lending money on deposit or pledges of personal property at a total charge, 
rate of interest, etc., of more than 8% per year (0.67% per month). The pledged 
personal property cannot be a security, printed evidence of indebtedness, 
title, deed, or bill of sale. The law requires anyone acting as a pawnbroker to 
obtain a license, and also sets strict limits and requirements on pawn loans, 
regulating interest, fees, notices of default, and recordkeeping.6

The term pawn, as used 
here, is of no relation 
to the game of chess. A 
pawn in the pawnshop 
sense comes from the 
Middle English paun, 
itself from the Middle or 
Old French pan, which 
means pledge. A pawn 
on the chessboard comes 
from the Middle English 
pown, which is from 
the Anglo French and 
Medieval Latin words for 
foot soldier–peoun, paun, 
pedon, and pedo.9

Traditional Pawnbroker's  
Sign7

The Medici Coat of Arms8
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In addition to making loans 
secured by personal property, a 
pawnbroker can purchase items 
outright.

Interest and fees

Pawnbrokers are permitted to 
charge up to 6% interest and up to $6 
for storage per month, or fraction of a 
month, on a single loan. At an annual 
rate, this would be a 72% interest 
rate and $72 in storage fees; but note 
that pawn loans do not typically last 
this long. According to the National 
Pawnbrokers Association, "a typical 
pawn loan is less than $150 for 30 
days."10

In teres t  on  pawn loans  i s 
calculated on the first day of the 
month (the day the loan is made and 
its subsequent monthly anniversaries) 
and applies to the unpaid principal only; 
it is not compounded (i.e., unpaid 
interest for a preceding month is 
not added to the principal before 
interest for a subsequent month is 
calculated). The law does not require 
that the storage fee also be calculated 
on the first day of the month, but 
in practice that is likely the case 
because pawnbrokers are prohibited 
from charging for storage at closer 
intervals. 

The law's reference to fractions 
of months means that the full 6% 
interest on unpaid principal comes 
due, and the full $6 for storage can 
come due, on the first day of the 
month. In other words, interest 
accrues in monthly lump sums, not 
gradually as the month progresses.11

In addition to interest and storage 
fees, the Pawnbrokers Law allows the 
following fees:

•	Up to $4, plus the actual cost 
of shipping, if the pawnbroker is 
to send an item to the pledgor by 
express or parcel post.

•	Up to $5 for  the cost  of 
notifying a pledgor by mail that 
the pawned items may be forfeited 
for nonpayment (see Payment, 
redemption, and forfeiture, below).

•	For pawnbrokers that are also 
licensed firearms dealers, up to $10 
for providing services in connection 
with a required FBI background 
check. The pawnbroker may also 
charge any fee that the pawnbroker 
is required by law to pay to run a 
background check, though there 
currently is no such fee in Ohio.12

No other fees are permitted by the 
Pawnbrokers Law.

Interest and fees on multiple items

When a person pledges more 
than one item to secure a loan, those 
items are pledged for a single loan by 
default. More than one loan, and the 
attendant fees and storage charges 
that come with each loan, can only 
be issued to the same person in a 
single day if that person requests, in 
writing, that certain items be pledged 
separately. The person must also 
acknowledge, in writing, that they 
understand additional fees may be 
incurred as a result of the separate 
pledges.13

Transaction records

The Pawnbrokers Law requires 
that pawnbrokers use separate forms, 
approved by the Superintendent of 
Financial Institutions, for pawns 
and purchases. Forms must be 
numbered, and used to record 

The primary fees charged 
on pawn loans are 
monthly interest and 
storage charges, 6% and 
$6, respectively. They 
accrue in lump sums on 
the first of the month.
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specific information for every 
purchase or pawn. The form must 
include specific details about the 
loan or purchase terms, the pledgor's 
or seller's identity, and the pledged 
or purchased property, including the 
manufacturer, any serial and model 
numbers, identifying features, and 
identifying letters or marks.14

A portion of each form must be 
detachable and serve as a statement, 
to be given to the pledgor or seller, 
that contains the pawnbroker's name 
and address, the loan amount or 
purchase price, the transaction's time 
and date, and a full and accurate 
description of the articles pledged 
or sold. For loans, the detachable 
statement must also include the 
interest rate and date when payable, 
a full disclosure of all charges for 
storage, and a printed copy of the 
Pawnbrokers Law's fee provisions.15

In lieu of the above record making 
and keeping provisions, the Law 
allows pawnbrokers to use other 
methods of making and keeping 
records. If a pawnbroker chooses 
to use such alternative means, 
written printouts or hard copies of 
the required data must be readily 
available, in a form approved in 
advance by the Superintendent of 
Financial Institutions.16

Payment, redemption, and forfeiture

A person with property deposited 
on a pawn loan can do three things: 
forfeit the pawn, extend the loan, or 
redeem the pawn. 

A pawn can be forfeited after the 
pledgor fails to pay interest and fees 
to the pawnbroker for three months 
from the date of the loan or the date 

on which the last interest payment is 
due. At that point, the pawnbroker 
must notify the borrower by U.S. 
mail, with proof of mailing, that if 
the borrower does not redeem the 
property or pay all interest due and 
fees within 30 days of mailing, the 
pledged property will be forfeited 
to the pawnbroker. If the borrower 
does not pay all interest due and 
fees within the 30 days, the pawn 
becomes the pawnbroker's property.

If the borrower pays all interest 
due and fees within the 30 days, the 
loan is extended and the three-month 
clock restarts. The loan can continue 
indefinitely as long as the pledgor 
continues to pay the interest and fees. 

If the borrower pays the principal, 
interest, and fees, the pawnbroker 
must immediately return the pledged 
article and the pawn is redeemed.17

Pledgors need not wait until 
the end of the three-month period 
to redeem loans, and may do so at 
any time after the pledge is made. 
(Although, before March 28, 2017, at 
least 72 hours had to pass after the 
loan was made.) Pledgors may also 
be able to reduce interest charges 
over the life of a loan by paying down 
portions of the principal in advance. 
Pawnbrokers, however, have the 
option to not accept a portion, as 
opposed to the entirety, of any 
outstanding principal balance. 

Regardless ,  any  payments 
received must first be applied to 
interest and storage charges, before 
any remainder may be applied to the 
principal. Interest and storage charges 
may not be prepaid unless a loan is 
being redeemed, however, so those 
payments may only be applied to 

Pawnbrokers must 
record specific 
information about 
each transaction. 
That includes 
identifying 
information about 
the person and item 
involved.

The borrower may, 
but does not have to, 
make payments each 
month. The borrower 
has three months plus 
30 days from the date 
of the loan or last 
payment to pay all 
interest and fees to 
extend the loan, or to 
also pay the principal 
to redeem the pawn. 
If the borrower does 
neither, the pawn is 
forfeited.
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interest and storage charges already 
accrued. Additionally, pawnbrokers 
must provide a receipt for every 
payment of principal, interest, or 
storage charges.18

Example transactions
These concepts may be more 

easily understood through examples, 
all of which assume the pawnbroker 
charges the maximum fees allowed 
by law:

•	A contractor pawns an air 
compressor for $300 in the morning 
and uses the money to buy materials 
needed to finish a job that day. The 
contractor returns in the afternoon 
to redeem the air compressor and 
pays $324 to do so. The first month's 
interest, $18 at 6%, and storage fee, 
$6, applied as soon as the loan was 
made. The contractor also could 
have waited until the last day of the 
month to redeem the air compressor 
and paid the same amount.

•	The same contractor decides 
to wait 45 days to redeem the air 
compressor. It will now cost $348 to 
redeem because another month has 
begun, and so another $18 in interest 
and $6 in storage fees will apply.

•	The contractor again decides 
to wait 45 days to redeem the air 
compressor, but the pawnbroker 
accepted $100 two weeks after the 
loan was made. The $100 payment 
was first applied to the $18 in 
interest and $6 storage fees from 
the first month and the remainder 
was applied to principal, reducing 
it to $224. Because the contractor 
did not redeem the air compressor 
until the second month had begun, 
interest and storage fees accrued 
for a second time, but the interest 

was calculated on the outstanding 
principal only. Six percent of $224 
is $13.44; with $6 for storage, the 
amount needed to redeem is $243.44, 
and the total amount paid over the 
life of the loan is $343.44.

•	If the contractor forgets about 
the air compressor, after three 
months elapse the pawnbroker 
will mail a notice explaining that 
unless the contractor redeems the 
air compressor or pays all interest 
due and fees within 30 days of the 
notice's mailing, the air compressor 
will be forfeited to the pawnbroker. 
The compressor will then cost $401 
to redeem (assuming February was 
not included in any of the months 
or fractions of a month). The notice 
was mailed at the end of three 
months, but another month also 
then began, so interest and storage 
fees were calculated a fourth time. 
Four months of interest at $18 per 
month is $72, four months of $6 
monthly storage fees is $24, and the 
pawnbroker was permitted to add a 
$5 fee for mailing the notice.

•	If  the contractor decides 
not, or is unable, to redeem the 
air compressor, it will become 
the pawnbroker's property on the 
expiration of the 30th day after the 
notice is mailed. 

Stolen property
O h i o  l a w  a d d r e s s e s  t h e 

possibi l i ty of  stolen property 
being sold or pawned in pawn 
shops through a combination of 
provisions. Specifically, the law 
imposes a retention period on items 
the pawnbroker purchases and 
imposes recordkeeping, inspection, 
and reporting requirements that 
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allow local law enforcement and 
state regulators broad access to 
pawnbrokers' records and facilities. 
The law also provides for civil and 
criminal liability for pawnbrokers 
who buy, or loan money on, stolen 
property in certain circumstances.

Retention period for purchased 
items

When a pawnbroker purchases 
an item outright, the item must be 
retained for at least 15 days after the 
purchase, though the local police 
chief or sheriff can allow an earlier 
disposition.19 The retention period 
can be extended by the police chief or 
sheriff upon probable cause to believe 
that an item is stolen (see Return 
of stolen property; civil liability, 
below). 

Recordkeeping, reporting, and 
inspections

Pawnbrokers must keep a copy of 
each transaction record in numerical 
order, and maintain them for at least 
two years after making the final 
entry regarding the purchase or 
pledge. Those transaction records 
must be available for inspection 
by the local police chief, sheriff, 
or the Superintendent of Financial 
Institutions at all times. Pawnbrokers 
must also make daily reports of 
all pledged or purchased property 
to the police chief or sheriff, who, 
in addition to the Superintendent, 
may demand that the property be 
presented for examination.20

The Superintendent of Financial 
Institutions also has the authority 
to enforce the Pawnbrokers Law 
through the issuance of subpoenas 
compel l ing the product ion of 

documents or the appearance of 
witnesses, and the examination 
of a pawnbroker's business. That 
examination authority extends to 
full access to records and facilities, 
and at least every 18 months, the 
Superintendent must investigate the 
business of every person licensed as 
a pawnbroker.21

Criminal prohibitions related to 
stolen property

The Pawnbrokers Law does not 
require a pawnbroker to verify that 
the person presenting an item for sale 
or pawn is that object's true owner. 
However, a pawnbroker is prohibited 
from recklessly receiving an item 
from a known or suspected thief or 
receiver of stolen property. 

In addition, a pawnbroker is 
prohibited from receiving an item 
from any person identif ied in 
writing to the pawnbroker by law 
enforcement as a known or suspected 
thief or receiver of stolen property. A 
violation of either of these provisions 
is a third degree misdemeanor for 
the first offense and a second degree 
misdemeanor on each subsequent 
offense. Moreover, a violation of the 
latter offense (relating to the written 
notification from law enforcement) 
is considered a strict liability offense, 
meaning a specific mental state, such 
as recklessly or knowingly, is not 
required for a person to be guilty of 
the offense.22 

A pawnbroker may also be found 
criminally liable for receiving stolen 
property if the pawnbroker buys, 
or loans money on, property the 
pawnbroker knows or has reasonable 
cause to believe was obtained through 
commission of a theft offense.23 But 

All items purchased 
by pawnbrokers must 
generally be retained 
for 15 days. Pawned 
items must generally 
be retained until 
they are redeemed 
or forfeited, a 
process that can take 
anywhere from a day 
to four months.

Pawnbrokers can face 
criminal liability for 
receiving items from 
anyone identified 
to them by law 
enforcement as a 
known or suspected 
thief or receiver of 
stolen property.
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that appears to be rare. Only one such 
case that resulted in a conviction was 
located during the research for this 
brief, and it involved a pawnbroker 
who was running a large-scale 
fencing operation involving millions 
of dollars' worth of stolen goods.24

Return of stolen property; civil 
liability 

If the chief of police or sheriff 
with jurisdiction over a pawnshop 
has probable cause to believe that 
property described in a daily report 
of pledged and purchased goods was 
stolen, the chief or sheriff must notify 
the pawnbroker. The pawnbroker 
must then retain the property for 30 
days, counted from the day the initial 
report is required, unless the chief 
or sheriff notifies the pawnbroker 
otherwise. If the police chief or 
sheriff does not place a hold on an 
item that was purchased, the 15-day 
retention period still applies. If the 
item was pawned, it must be held 
until redeemed or forfeited to the 
pawnbroker for nonpayment.

If the chief or sheriff receives a 
report that property has been stolen, 
determines that the pawnbroker 
holds that property through purchase 
or pawn, and informs the pawnbroker 
of the identity of the alleged true 
owner, the pawnbroker may restore 
the allegedly stolen property to that 
alleged true owner. 

If the pawnbroker restores the 
property to the alleged true owner, 
the pawnbroker may charge the 
person who pledged or sold the 
property to the pawnbroker the 
amount the pawnbroker paid or 
loaned for it, plus interest and storage 
charges. The pawnbroker also may 

charge any person who acted in 
consort with the pledgor or the seller 
to defraud the pawnbroker.25

The Pawnbrokers Law does not 
contain any provisions allowing a 
pawnbroker to charge the true owner 
of the property for costs that the 
pawnbroker incurred in acquiring 
or holding the item. But, the law 
does not require that a pawnbroker 
return the item to the true owner, 
either. Therefore, if the pawnbroker 
refuses to return the item, the true 
owner's recourse is to either sue the 
pawnbroker to reacquire the item26 
or to reimburse the pawnbroker for 
the costs the pawnbroker incurred in 
acquiring the item.

If an alleged true owner decides 
to pay for the return of an item, 
that person may be able to sue the 
pawnbroker to recover the amount 
paid. One Ohio appeals court upheld 
a trial court's order requiring a 
pawnbroker to pay the true owner 
of stolen property the money the 
pawnbroker had charged for its 
return, plus costs, and 8% interest 
from the time of judgment.

The appeals court said that, based 
on a plain and unambiguous reading 
of the Pawnbrokers Law, a person 
whose item was stolen and pawned 
is entitled to recover the item without 
charges, and the pawnshop's right 
to recover funds is limited to the 
pledgor alone.27

Addit ional ly ,  in  Hamil ton 
County, at least, compliance with 
the Pawnbrokers Law does not 
vest the pawnbroker with a right of 
possession against the true owner. 
If the pawnbroker sells the property 
even prior to being informed by law 

The law allows, but 
does not require, a 
pawnbroker to return 
allegedly stolen property 
to a person identified by 
law enforcement. If the 
property is not returned, 
the alleged true owner 
can sue to recover it.

An Ohio appeals court 
held that a pawnbroker's 
recourse to recover 
money paid for a stolen 
item is limited to the 
person who presented 
the item. That court 
required a pawnbroker 
to reimburse the amount 
the item's owner paid to 
recover it.
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enforcement that it might be stolen 
property, the pawnbroker may be 
liable for damages for the tort of 
conversion even if the pawnbroker 
o t h e r w i s e  c o m p l i e s  w i t h  t h e 
Pawnbrokers Law.28 A Lake County 
court, however, reached the opposite 

conclusion in one case, holding that 
a pawnbroker acquired good title to 
firearms pawned by someone who 
had been given permission to borrow 
them because the pawnbroker had 
complied with the Pawnbrokers 
Law.29
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